Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Last Days in the 303

Monday
Bolder Boulder! My family and I got up early, drove to Boulder, and ran the Bolder Boulder - one of the biggest 10k races in the world. I ran with Ariel, and we had a good time! Ariel actually goes through the five stages of grief when we run: first she's in denial that we're actually running, and then she gets angry about it, which is kind of funny. Then she'll begin the bargaining ("I'll run the next kilometer if we can walk the next half kilometer!"), and then the grief sets in ("I can't do this, Sam!"). I drag her across the finish line, and then she hits stage five: acceptance. After running the race, we got our food, and I downed about 15oz of free soymilk, which was lovely. Then we walked a long way back to our car, drove home, showered, and Ariel and I watched the first half hour of A Study in Pink with commentary. Then Ariel skedaddled to go out with her friend's family, and I went to a barbecue at my friend Mindy's house, which was wonderful. We sat around, talked, ate so much food that Katie and I got huge food babies, then ate some more, and laughed a lot. Olivia eventually showed up, and we watched How To Train Your Dragon, which Katie absolutely adored. It's a very cute movie. After that, we played through an entire deck of cards in Taboo, which was aboslutely hilarious and strangely Sherlock-related. Then I got lost on the way out of Mindy's neighborhood, and was thankful to have learned my way around Louisville back when I dated Dr. Baltar and Aladdin.

Tuesday
On Tuesday, Ariel and I went to Olivia's house, along with Katie, Mindy, Kelly and Kate for a sushi lunch. I ate enough sushi to shock everyone else (it was really good!), and then we ate more strawberries and ice cream and Nutella. Fantastic way to do lunch. Then we watched the 2005 Pride and Prejudice, which was horrendous. Olivia and Katie have long tried to convince me that 2005's drunken-sailor-Darcy is hotter than 1995's proper-Jew-fro-Darcy, and they have failed. The 2005 version was waaay to short, and the characterization was awful, and the only thing that was better in the 2005 version was how cute Mr. Bingley is. I absolutely adore Simon Woods, though he was better in Cranford, when he didn't have the Edward-Cullen hair. After Pride and Prejudice, we pillow-fought and tickle-fought, and then walked to the park nearby. We hung out there for a while, just talking, swinging, rolling down the grassy hill, throwing grass at each other, and lazing in the sun. Then Mindy took Ariel and I home for a few hours. For dinner, I met Olivia at the grocery store, and we bought dinner and stuff for smores and took them to Katie's house, since Katie has a fire pit. We sat around the fire with Katie and Kate and made smores and talked for a few hours. Olivia had never made proper smores before, so it was time well spent. Then we went back to King Soopers for cheap raspberries for breakfast the next morning, and then spent the night in sleeping bags in my backyard. It was also Olivia's first near-camping experience.

Wednesday
We woke up in the morning, and after rolling around a bit, actually got out of our sleeping bags. We packed up, ate breakfast (berries!), and took turns showering in my shower. We did each others' nails, played the piano and sang songs, and then Mindy, Kelly and Heidi showed up to my house. We went to Qdoba and Chipotle, got our burritos, and took them to the park by my house, where we ate and hung out for a few hours. Then we repaired to my house, drank some juice, and I started throwing stuff in the freezer into a fruit smoothie, which didn't turn out too badly. We talked and watched videos on YouTube for a while, which was lovely. Then my girls had to go, and we said goodbye for a few months - until I come back to Colorado. Ever since then, I've been running around getting ready to, you know, move, in a couple days. Stressful times.

No comments:

Post a Comment