Here's a new thing I'll do: I'll liveblog/review Doctor Who as I rewatch it. Starting off at the beginning, in 2005.
Ahh, I missed this version of the theme song. Christopher Eccleston! Billie Piper! The Surfboard Logo!
Oh, this music! It's so season one! I love it!
Okay, who costumed this episode? Honestly, what is Rose wearing? And her hair is all poofy.
Oh, and there's our first shot of Mickey. The one that started my dislike of him.
Thank. Goodness. For that man. Whoever he was. The one who made Rose go back and give that back of stuff to the guy we never meet. Wilson, apparently, is his name. The one who led Rose to the Doctor.
This episode is a little slow in starting. Episode one issues and all.
Billie just looks and sounds so different. I guess she grows up a lot as we film? Or her character does?
I love how Rose is just so human here. She does exactly what all the humans for the rest of the entire show do when confronted with aliens: think it's a joke, then get scared, and in trouble, and get saved by the Doctor.
They held hands! And my ship was launched. And there was an awful lot of running.
Okay, they've got fantastic chemistry. I never noticed that before. Christopher and Billie go so well together. Instant connection. And it's fantastic how Rose is instantly okay with the whole "Run for your life" concept. It's like she was born to be the Doctor's companion.
FIRST TARDIS SIGHTING!
Oh, Jackie Tyler, I've missed you!
I think part of why I don't like Mickey very much is that Rose just doesn't seem nuts about him. It seems like he annoys her. And he irritates me.
Man, Rose's room is pink.
Jackie Tyler, I adore you. You are hilarious. And I love how attracted to the Doctor you are.
Did the Doctor just start singing Guys and Dolls? Fantastic! And he's making puns. Man, he's hilarious! I love his sense of humor. And his accent.
I love that Rose never says "Doctor Who?" I hate that joke. And I love how persistent she is. She is honestly following the Doctor all over just to find out what's going on. And the Doctor is letter her, because he's lonely. And he needs her.
She's already started calling him "Doctor." Fantastic. And they're holding hands again!
I love the Doctor's theme music. So much.
FIRST TARDIS SWOOSHING NOISE!
Wow. Mickey's computer. It's so.... 2005. And the search engine she's using.
Since when does Mickey drive a yellow bug?
I'd like to think that this Clive guy ends up at Torchwood. He's giving us a wonderful introduction to the Doctor. And the one constant companion: death. That's fantastic.
Yes, the overuse of the word "fantastic" is intentional here. It's a season one thing.
This episode could also be called "Mickey Smith and the Worst Special Effects Ever."
Seriously? How does Rose not notice that her boyfriend has suddenly turned into plastic?
Rose knows the Doctor is dangerous. And she still goes with him. She'd get along very well with John Watson.
First thing the Doctor does when he sees Rose with Mickey is try to kill Mickey. My ship is unsinkable. And it's her first time in the TARDIS, and he's already explaining everything to her.
Continuity issue: doesn't Mickey live with his grandmother, not his mother, like Rose is talking about?
Angry Doctor, I like. Calling us stupid apes. Oh Rose, how you'll change him. Oh Doctor, how you will be changed.
I love that Rose follows him. She doesn't run away from the scary stuff. She follows him, because she can tell that he needs her. And for her, even if it's dangerous, exciting is better. Man, they're a lot like Sherlock and John.
Oh. I forgot. Clive dies. I guess he's not going to work for Torchwood, then. :(
Rose Tyler, saving the day from Day One. I love Rose Tyler.
THEIR FIRST HUG!
YES GO WITH HIM ROSE GO WITH HIM HE'S YOUR SOULMATE GO GO GO!!!!
What if the Doctor hadn't come back for Rose then?
AND THE MOST BEAUTIFUL THING IN THE UNIVERSE BEGAN.
Ladies and gentlemen, this has been Doctor Who - Season One - Episode One: Rose.